The European Society of Construction Law Master Thesis Prize 2018

On the 26th of October 2018 during the last day of the Annual Conference of the European Society of Construction Law (ESCL) in Bucharest, Romania, the winners of the seventh Master Thesis Prize 2018 were honored in an award ceremony.

The President of this year’s thesis prize edition was dr. Ovidiu Dumitru (president of the Romanian Society of Construction Law). He appointed Professor dr. Benoît Kohl (Professor, University of Liège and University of Paris II – Counsel, Stibbe Brussels) and Professor dr. Anthony P. Lavers (Counsel, White & Case LLP, London – Visiting Professor of Law, King’s College London) and Professor dr. M. Hugues Périnet-Marquet (Professor, University of Paris II) as jury members.

For the 2018 Thesis Prize, the jury has come to a decision to award one first and two second prizes.

This year’s winner was Giuseppe Giancarlo Franco from Bocconi University, Milan with his thesis titled: “Dispute boards: A comparative study of international practice”.

The joint second prize was awarded to Yu Gao from the Technical University of Delft and to Edwina Elena Udrescu from Kings’ College London.

Yu Gao wrote a thesis with the title: “Early Warning of NEC3 ECC, A Solution for Dutch Design and Build Construction Problem Solving?”.

Edwina Elena Udrescu wrote a thesis titled: “What legal and contractual issues can determine the success or failure of a PPP project?”.

More information on next years’ competition will soon be placed on the ESCL website

Leave a Reply